Culture Species

Since the start of aquaculture industry in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia at the beginning of the eighties of the last century, the government undertook the necessary measures to establish the aquaculture industry as one of the important productive sectors by establishing a specialized aquaculture research center in Jeddah. One of the major concerns of this center was to investigate the commercial species, whether marine or freshwater fishes of shrimps, which are most suitable for aquaculture in the local environment of the Kingdom.Since that time, the diversity of cultured species changed with the changing conditions and farming systems, as well as the choices of investors.

Below is a review of the most prominent aquatic species which had been cultured, including  those produced commercially, and others which are still in the stage of research and study, the production size and their importance to the aquaculture sector in the Kingdom.

 

 

Shrimp Shrimps

 

Indian White shrimp F.Indicus:

 

For a long period of time, the Indian white shrimp Fenneropenaeus indicus formed the most important farmed species in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia since studies began on its culture at the Fisheries Research Center in Jeddah in the mid-eighties until the start of its commercial culture in 1997 by establishing the first large commercial farm for its farming.

With the foundation of the National Prawn Company (presently, National aquaculture Company) in 2000, the production size of this species increased progressively to reach its peak in 2009, with an estimated total annual production of about 20, 000 metric tonnes from 5 farms, which placed the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia as the world largest producer of the Indian white shrimp, and the National Prawn Company in Lith, as the largest global producer of shrimp.

 

The Pacific whiteleg shrimp  L. Vannamei:

 

Litopenaeus vannamei was introduced into the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in 2012 as part of the activities undertaken by the Saudi Aquacultural Society in cooperation with the Ministry of Agriculture, and as one of the important measures taken to maintain the sustainability and continuity of the aquaculture projects in the Kingdom, which were seriously hit by the White Spot Syndrome Virus (WSSV) at that time. P. vannamei is well known to be resistant to WSSV, and is considered one of the most widespread shrimp species in the world.

 

 

Marine Fish 

 

Barramundi fish Asian Seabass:

 

The Asian Seabass (Lates calcarifer) is the most commonly cultured fish species in the Kingdom, and its culture has recently been expanded significantly in the Kingdom. It is characterized by several cultural properties, such as rapid growth, ease of breeding and suitability to the climatic conditions of the Kingdom. Although its culture trials started at the Fisheries Research Center in Jeddah in 1998, yet and commercial production started in 2006. The period starting from 2011 onwards witnessed a rapid growth in the culture of this species as it has been farmed in a number of culture systems, including tanks, earthen ponds and floating cages, with production reaching 5,000 MT in 2014. Generally, the culture of this species is common in marine and freshwater farms in the Kingdom.


Gilthead seabream:

 

Gilthead seabream (Sparus aurata) is a marine species which had been successful cultured in the northern regions of the Red Sea, where the temperature usually drops. It is widespread throughout the Mediterranean basin and finds wide acceptance in the European countries. This fish was introduced into the Kingdom in 2008, and commercial productions operations started in one of the large farms by using floating cages. Presently, this fish is produced in cages in three farms and production has exceeded 2,000 MT in 2013.

 

Sobaity Seabream:

 

Sobaity seabream (Sparidentex hasta) is a fish that is widely spread in the Arabian Gulf region, and was cultured in some of the Gulf States for a considerable period of time. Recently, it has been cultured on a commercial scale in the Kingdom in one of the floating cage farms in the northern Red Sea. However, the volume of production is still limited.

 

Groupers: 

 

Despite the importance of the grouper species and their high economic value locally, yet their scope of culture is still limited to research and rearing trials in some farms. Several species of groupers have been studied in the Fisheries Research Center in Jeddah, including Epinephelus coioides, E. malabaricus, E. Fuscoguttatus and E. polyphekadion.

Moreover, the FRC conducted extensive culture trials on some species of high market value, locally and globally, such as Najil (Plectropomus pessuliferuss) and Taradi (P. aerolatus).

 

Rabbit fish:

 

The farming of rabbit fish (Siganus rivulatus) has been investigated extensively in the Kingdom, as this species enjoys wide acceptance by the consumer in the local market. It is considered one of the traditional fish in the Red Sea. The Fish Farming Center in Jeddah (presently, Fisheries Research Center in Jeddah) had early carried out studies on the cultivation of this species. However, the scope of its farming is still limited to the previous trials only. One of the farms usually collects fingerlings of rabbit fish from the sea and rear them in cages and enclosures.

 

Marine Tilapia:

 

Marine tilapia (Oreochromis spilurus) is one of the oldest fish species which had been introduced into the Kingdom in the early eighties of the last century, even before the establishment of the Fish Farming Center in Jeddah. This species was chosen because of the ease of its farming, economic viability and flexibility of its farming in marine, freshwater and brackish water. Its culture is still limited to the research centers and some inland brackish water farms.

 

Mullet :

 

Grey mullets are among the traditional fishes in the Kingdom. They are easily cultured in marine and freshwater with low cost of production. Despite this fact, they are not targeted among farmers due to their low prices. They are cultivated to a limited extent in some farms, and their fingerlings are collected from the sea.

 

Other species:

 

In addition to the previous fishes, there are other species which have been cultured on an experimental and research scale, and have not yet reached the stage of commercial production; these include the great amberjack, (Seriola dumerili), which has  high economic value globally.

Also, some of the farms on the Red Sea coast collect Milk fish (Chanos chanos) fingerlings and rear them in some channels and sedimentation ponds.

 

 

Sturgeon :

 

The farming of the Sturgeon (Acipenser ruthenus) is considered one of the most important achievements of the aquaculture sector in view of the rearing requirements needed by this species of fish. One of the successful projects in the eastern region of the Kingdom produces Caviar eggs from a farm by using a closed system of production, with a production capacity exceeding six metric tonnes per year.


Freshwater fish

 

Nile tilapia Nile tilapia:

 

The Nile tilapia (Oreochromis niloticus) is the most commonly cultured freshwater fish species in inland aquacultural projects in the Kingdom. It is considered the first fish species to be introduced into the Kingdom’s aquaculture sector since its establishment, with a total production of about 4,000 MT per year, produced by small and medium-sized farms distributed over different areas in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

 

Cat fish:

 

The African catfish (Clarias gariepinus) is the only catfish species which had been introduced lately into the freshwater aquaculture sector in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Its overall production is limited, and exceeded 50 MT only recently.

 

Ornamental fish:

 

The culture of ornamental fish has witnessed significant growth in the Kingdom following the success of one of the distinctive projects in producing and marketing these fishes both locally and abroad.  More than 60 fish species were cultured, including Molly, Gold fish, Sword Tail, Fighter, Koicarp, Black Ghos, Barb, Rainbow Fish , Shark, Platy, and several other species.

This success has encouraged other small freshwater farms to culture some species of ornamental fish on a small scale in different areas.

 

Sea cucumber

 

Sea cucumber (Holothuria Scabra) is one of the recent species which had been cultured in the Kingdom. In 2013, a major national company working in the field of aquaculture announced the establishment of a new project aimed at producing 90 MT of sea cucumber annually. In the same year, more than 23 million larvae of sea cucumber were produced locally for the first time.

This project is considered one of the pilot projects in the Kingdom due to the economical and environmental importance gained by sea cucumber.

 

 

Marine Algea

 

Marine algae cultured in the Kingdom vary according to the activity in which they are used. There are some species of unicellular algae which are cultured locally since the start of production of shrimp and some marine fishes, due to the close relationship between these algae with the feeding of the early stages of the life history of shrimp and fish. However, since 2010 there was a major trend to support the aquaculture sector in the Kingdom and start the commercial production of algae to benefit from the relative advantage provided by the climatic conditions favorable for their growth in the Kingdom.

 

Micro Algae:

 

There are several species of micro-algae which are continually produced in the fish and shrimp hatcheries and research centers. These algae which are usually fed to the larvae during the early stages of their growth include, Tetraselmis, Chlorella, Nannochloropsis, Cheatoceros, and Skletonema. Other micro-algae are produced on a commercial scale. In 2014, the first unique project which produces the algae (Dunaliella salina) was established.

 

Marine Seaweed:

 

The cultivation of macro-algae received much interest only recently due to the need to utilize these algae in many important usages, such as their use in operating specialized aquaculture systems such as aquaponics, or their use as raw materials in some important industries like fish feeds. Investigations are underway on two species of economically important macro- algae present in the Red Sea natural environment. These are Ulva lactuca and Gracilaria arcuata.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find Us ON

facebook twitter Flickr google plus Youtube RSS

Latest Activities

  • Workshop on "Developing

    National Fisheries Development Program at the Ministry of Environment, Water and Agriculture in cooperation with Saudi Aquaculture Society, and the F..
  • A Memorandum of Understan

    On the sideline of Launching SAMAQ's Expanding Project ceremony which was held on Sunday, May 27th , 2018,the Secretary General of Saudi Aquacultu..
  • Launching SAMAQ's Expandi

    On Sunday, May 27th, 2018 at the Ministry of Environment, Water and Agriculture in Riyadh, the expansion ceremony of SAMAQ Project was launched to inc..

Advertisement

Last News

الانواع المستزرعة

منذ ان انطلق الاستزراع المائي في المملكة العربية السعودية بدءأً من بداية الثمانينيات من القرن الماظي وهي الفترة التي اتخذت خطوات جرئية من قبل الحكومة من اجل الشروع في التاسيس لمجال الاستزراع المائي كاحد القطاعات  الانتاجية الهامة وذلك بانشاء مركز ابحاث متخصص للاستزراع المائي في جدة  وكان من ابرز اهتمامات هذا المركز البحث عن الانواع الاقتصادية والمناسبة للاستزراع في البيئة المحلية للمملكة سواء كانت اسماك او روبيان او اسماك مياه عذبة ومنذ ذلك الوقت والتنوع في عدد الانواع المستزرعة يتغير بتغير الظروف وانظمة الاستزراع وكذلك اختيارات المستثمرين . وفيما يلي نعرض لابرز انواع الاحياء التي تم العمل عليها وكذلك حجم الانتاج واهميتها بالنسبة لقطاع الاستزراع المائي في المملكة .

 

الروبيان Shrimps 

 

الروبيان الابيض الهندي F.Indicus :

الروبيان الابيض الهندي Fenneropenaeus indicus  شكل وعلى مدى فترة طويلة اهم الانواع المستزرعة في في المملكة العربية السعودية منذ ان بدات الدراسات على النوع بمركز ابحاث الثروة السمكية بجدة منتصف الثمانينيات الميلادية وحتى الانطلاق التجاري لاستزراعة منذ العام 1997م بانطلاق اول مزرعة تجارية كبيرة لاستزراعة  وفي العام 2000 تاسيس شركة الروبيان الوطنية تطور حجم الاستزراع لهذا النوع ليص الى ذروتة العام 2009م بانتاجية قدرت 20 الف طن في العام من 5 مزارع وضعت المملكة العربية السعودية كاكبر منتج للروبيان الابيض في العالم وكذلك صنفت شركة الروبيان الوطنية بالليث اكبر منتج له عالميا.

 

الروبيان الفانمي  L. Vannamei:

 

ادخل الروبيان الفانمي  Litopenaeus vannamei الى المملكة العربية السعودية في العام 2012م وكان ذلك من ضمن الانشطة التي تولتها الجمعية السعودية للاستزراع المائي وبالتعاون مع وزارة الزراعة في كاحد الخطوات المهمة للمحافظة على استدامة واستمرارية عمل مشاريع الروبيان في المملكة والتي تاثرت حينها بسبب مرض فيروس البقعة البيضاء WSSV ويعتبر الروبيان الفانمي من انواع الروبيان المقامة لمرض فيروس البقعة البيضاء ومن انواع الروبيان الاكثر انتشارا عالميا .

 

الاسماك البحرية  Marine Fish 

 

أسماك الباراموندي : Barramundi

 

يعد سمك الباراموندي Asian Seabass Lates calcarifer من الانواع الاكثر انتشارا في المملكة وقد توسع استزراعه مؤخرا بشكل كبير وتميز بمميزات عديدة منها سرعة النمو وسهولة التفريخ وملائمته للظروف المناخية للمملكة وقد تم استزراعه في العام 1998م في مركز ابحاث الثروة السمكية بجدة وشرع في الانتاج التجاري له منذ العام 2006م وتعد الفترة من العام 2011م فترة ازدهار استزراع هذا النوع وقد تم استزراعة في مجموعة من الانظمة كالاحواض والبرك الترابية والاقفاص العائمة  وقد وصل الانتاج الى 5000 طن للعام 2014م . وعلى صعيد الانتشار فهذا النوع منتشر في المزارع البحرية والعذبة

 في المملكة .

أسماك الدنيس seabream :

اسماك الدنيس gilthead seabream Sparus aurata  من الاسماك البحرية التي اثبتت نجاحا باهرا في استزراعها في المناطق الشمالية من البحر الاحمر حيث تنخفض الحرارة  وهي من الاسماك المنتشره في حوض البحر الابيض المتوسط ولها قبول واسع في الدول الاوربية وقد ادخلت الاسماك في العام 2008م حيث تم التشغيل التجاري لاحد المزارع الكبيرة لانتاج هذه الاسماك في انظمة الاقفاص العائمة وتنتج الان في الاقفاص عن طريق3 مزارع . وقد تجاوز الانتاج 2000 طن للعام 2013 م .

 

أسماك السبيطي Subaiti :

اسماك السبيطي  Sobaity seabream Sparidentex hasta  من الاسماك الواسعة الانتشار في  منطقة الخليج العربي وتستزرع منذ فترة طويلة في بعض دول الخليج وقد تم استزراعها مؤخرا في احد مزراع الاقفاص العائمة  في المملكة على نطاق تجاري شمال البحر الاحمر ولايزال حجم انتاجها محدوداً.

 

أسماك الهــــامور : Groupers

رغم اهمية هذه الانواع وقيمتها الاقتصادية العالية محليا الا ان نطاق استزراعها وتربيتها لم يخرج عن مجالات الابحاث والتربية المحدودة في بعض المزارع . وقد تم دراسة واستزراع اكثر من نوع في مركز ابحاث الثروة السمكية بجدة : E.polyphekadion و E.fascoguttatus و E.malabaricus و E. coioides كذلك قام المركز بتجارب مكثفة على انواع عالية القيمة السوقية محليا وعالميا مثل اسماك الناجل Najil P.pessuliferus وكذلك اسماك الطرادي Taradi P.aerolatus.

 

أسماك السيجان : Rabbit fish

تم دراسة استزراع النوع  Siganus rivulatus وهو من الانواع التي تحضى بقبول لدى المستهلك في السوق المحلية ويعد من الاسماك التقليدية في البحر الاحمر و عمل مركز المزراع السمكية بجدة ( مركز ابحاث الثروة السمكية بجدة  حالياً) على دراسة واستزراع هذا النوع منذ وقت مبكر , ويعد نطاق استزراعة محدوداً لايتعدى التجارب السابقة وتقوم احدى المزارع بتجميع اصبعياته من البحر وتربيتها بنضم الاقفاص والمسيجات .

 

أسمأك البلطي البحري : Marine Tilapia

سمك البلطي من النوع    Oreochromis spilurus  من انواع الاسماك الاقدم في المملكة وقد تم ادخالة بداية الثمانيانات الميلادي حتى قبل انشاء مركز المزارع السمكية بجدة وتم  اختيار هذا النوع لسهولة تربيته وجدوته الاقتصادية ومرونة استزراعة في المياه البحرية والعذبة والمختلطه ولازال استزراعه محصورا في مراكز الابحاث وبعض مزارع المياه المختلطة الداخلية .

 

 : Mullet (أسمأك البوري(العربي 

اسماك العربي grey mullets  من الاسماك التقليدية التي تستزرع بسهولة في المياه البحرية والعذية . وتكاليف انتاجها منخفظه ورغم ذلك فهي من الانواع الغير مستهدفه لدى المزراعين لانخفاض اسعارها . يتم استزراعها في بعض المزارع  بشكل محدود ويتم جمع الاصبعيات من البحر.

 

أنواع اخرى Other species  :

بالاضافة للانواع السابقه هناك انواع اخرى تمت استزراعها على نطاق التجارب والابحاث ولم تصل الى مراحل الانتاج التجاري مثل سمك البياض من نوع Imperjack  yellowtail or great amberjack, Seriola lalandi, وهو من الانواع المحلية ذات القيمة الاقتصادية العالية عالمياً.  كما تقوم بعض المزارع على البحر بجمع وتربية اصبعيات اسماك الحليب Milk fish chanos chanos في بعض القنوات واحواض الترسيب

 

اسماك الحفش Sturgeon  :

استزراع اسماك الحفش الاسترجون من النوع Acipenser ruthenus من الانجازات المهمة لقطاع الاستزراع المائي نظراً للمتطلبات التي يحتاجها خذا النوع من الاسماك احد المشاريع الناجحة في المنطقة الشرقية من اللمملكة تنتج بيض الكافيار  Caviar من مزرعة تعتمد النظام المغلق للانتاج بطاقة انتاجية تتجاوز 6 طن سنوياً .

 

 

أسماك المياه العذبة  Freshwater Fish 

 

البلطي النيلي  Nile tilapia  :

يعتبر البلطي النيلي Oreochromis niloticus من اكثر انواع الاسماك استزراعا في المياه العذبة والمشاريع الداخلية في المملكة ويعتبر من اؤائل انواع الاسماك التي ادخلت للقطاع منذ انشائه ووصل انتاجة الى قرابة  4000 طن في العام من مزارع صغيرة ومتوسطة تتوزع على مناطق محتلفة من المملكة .

 

اسماك القراميط   Cat fish :

اسماك القراميط Sharp Tooth Catfish  من الانواع التي دخلت مؤخراً الى قطاع الاستزراع المائي في المياه العذبة في المملكة العربية السعودية . ويعتبر بشكل عام انتاجه محدوداً وقد تجاوز حجم الانتاج 50 طن مؤخراً.

 

أسماك الزينة  Ornamental fishes  :

استزراع اسماك الزينة شهد نمواً كبيراً بعد نجاح احد المشاريع المميزة في المملكة انتاج هذا الاسماك وتسويقها محليا وخارجياً , حيث يستزرع المشروع اكثر من 60 نوعاً منها . Molly , Gold Fish , Sword Tail , Fighter, Koicarp,  Black Ghos , Barb , Rainbow Fish , Shark,  Platy  ... وانواع اخرى عديدة . وقد شجع هذا الامر بعض مزارع المياه العذبة الصغيرة الى استزراع انواع من اسماك الزينة على نطاق بسيط .

 

خيار البحر  Sea cucumber 

 

يعد خيار البحر Sea cucumber Holothuria Scabra من الانواع الحديثة على الاستزراع المائي في المملكة  في العام 2013م اعلنت احدى الشركات الوطنية الكبرى في مجال الاستزراع المائي عن مشروع جديد يستهدف انتاج 90 طن من خيار البحر سنويا. حيث اعلن في نفس العام انتاج اكثر من 23 مليون يرقة في اول تفريخ له محليا . وبعد هذا المشروع من المشاريع الرائده للاهمية التي يكتسبه هذا الحيوان على الصعيد البيئي والاقتصادي .

 

الطحالب البحرية  Marine seaweed 

 

تختلف انواع الطحالب البحرية المستزرعة في المملكة باختلاف النشاط الذي تستخدم فيه فهناك انواع من الطحالب وحيدة الخلية يتم استزراعها محلياً منذ البدء في انتاج الروبيان وبعض الاسماك البحرية لارتباط هذه الانواع بتغذية الاسماك والروبيان في المراحل الاولى من دورة حياتها . ولكن منذ العام 2010 م ومع التوجه الكبير لدعم قطاع الاستزراع المائي في المملكة تم التوجه نحو الانتاج التجاري للطحالب وذلك بالاستفادة النسبية الذي توفرها الظروف المناخية الملائمة لنموها في المملكة .

 

الطحالب الدقيقة Micro Algae :

 وهناك عدة أنواع يجري انتاجها بشكل مستمر في مفارخ الاسماك والروبيان  ومراكز الابحاث والتي عادة ما تستخدم في تغذية اليرقات خلال مراحل النمو الاولى ومنها :

Skletonema, Cheatocerous, Nannochloropsis, , Chlorella, Tetraselmis. و انواع أخرى تنتج على نطاق تجاري حيث شهد العام 2014 تشغيل أول مشروع فريد من نوعه لانتاج طحالب Dunaliella Salina .

 

الطحالب البحرية  Marine Seaweed :

استزراع الطحالب الكبيرة تم الاهتمام به مؤخرا  وذلك للحاجة الى هذه الطحالب في استخدامات مهمة منها  استخدامها في تشغيل انظمة استزراع  متخصصة كالاكوابونك Aquaponics او استخدامها كمواد خام تدخل في بعض الصناعات المهمة ومنها اعلاف الاسماك وتجري الابحاث على نوعين من الطحالب الاقتصادية المتواجدة في البيئة الطبيعية للبحر الاحمر .وهما Ulva lactuca و Gracilaria arcuata

 

 

 

 

تابعونا على شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي

facebook twitter Pinterest Flickr google plus Youtube RSS

أخر الأنشطة

  • ورشة عمل تطبيقات الأمن ال

    انعقدت ورشة العمل الرابعة عشر الخاصة بالأمن الحيوي في مشاريع الاستزراع المائي والتي تم تنظيمها من قبل الجمعية السعودية للاستزراع المائي ووزارة الزراعة..
  • ورشة عمل تناقش الاشتراطات

    بمشاركة الجمعية السعودية للاستزراع المائي وادارة المزارع السمكية عقدت الإدارة العامة لشؤون الزراعة بمنطقة الرياض، بالتنسيق مع أمانة منطقة الرياض ممثلة..
  • ورشة عمل مستقبل استزراع ا

    نظمت السفارة الهولندي بالرياض اجتماعاً وورشة عمل حول الفرص الخاصة بالمشروع التجريبي لاستزراع الطحالب أحد مخرجات خارطة طريق استزراع الطحالب في المملكة...

إعلانات

آخر الأخبار